Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library is open 24/7

The Library: Contact Us

Christmas 2022

The University is closed over Christmas and New Year (Thursday 22 December - Monday 2 January inclusive) but you can access the Library self service 09:00 - 21:00 every day. See the opening hours information below for more details.

In addition:

  • 24/7 Library advice is available via Chat and you can also get IT support via phone on 0113 812 1000 with our partner services. Emails are not being answered during the Vacation. Leeds Beckett Library staff will be available again on Tuesday 3 January when the University reopens. Please also see our IT Support pages and our YouTube channel for more help.
  • You are able to reset your password and unlock your account without contacting the Library with the Microsoft Authenticator app on your smart phone. If you get a new phone for Christmas you will need to set that up for authentication - see our FAQ for more information. Please also be extra vigilant about your cyber security at this time.
  • You can access resources off campus via Discover and our Resources web pages as well as your reading lists and modules via MyBeckett. More information on using Discover, including information on known issues, can be found via our Discover FAQs.
  • Help is available on our MyBeckett and submissions pages if you have assignments to submit.
  • The last date to place reservations, use our Request It service or request Offsite loans before the vacation is midday Monday 19 December. Reservations and requests after this date will not be processed until Tuesday 3 January.
  • Appointments with our Learning Support Officer will not be available Thursday 22 December - Monday 2 January inclusive but you will be able to book appointments for January. Please see the Disabled and Dyslexic User page for help and info.
  • Keep your studies on track by revisiting our Study modules in MyBeckett. It's also worth reflecting on the feedback you've received so far ahead of the new semester.
  • The Student Services Centres will close at 17:00 on Wednesday 21 December and reopen at 10:00 on Tuesday 3 January. Please see the Student Wellbeing website if you need support during the vacation.

Please note: You should be able to access most of our online systems and information resources during the University closure period, but we can't guarantee this. There are alternate access options available for some resources - see the table at the bottom of this page for details.

If we are aware of any problems we will post on Twitter but it may not be possible to resolve them until staff (including external resource and system supplier staff) return on 3 January.

Christmas Vacation Opening Hours - 17 December - 3 January

Please see below for Library opening times during the Vacation. Please note only the ground and first floors of Headingley Library are open.

The Library is self-service during this time and you must have your Campus Card to enter.

Other services resume at 09:00 on Tuesday 3 January.

Guest Users and SCONUL Access Scheme users can access the Library 09:00 - 17:00 - you must show your Guest User card or SCONUL email confirmation and you will also need to be let into the Leslie Silver Building by Security to access Sheila Silver Library.

Date Library opening times Staff availability
Saturday 17 December - Sunday 18 December  24/7

11:00 - 17:00 face to face on campus

plus 24/7 support by phone and chat

Monday 19 December - Tuesday 20 December  24/7 

09:00 - 19:00 face to face on campus

plus 24/7 support by phone and chat

Wednesday 21 December The Library closes at 21:00

09:00 - 17:00 face to face on campus

plus 24/7 support by phone and chat

Thursday 22 December - Sunday 1  January 09:00 - 21:00

24/7 Library advice via Chat 

IT support  on 0113 8121000

Monday 2 January  Opens 09:00 then 24/7 opening resumes

24/7 Library advice via Chat 

IT support  on 0113 8121000

Tuesday 3 January 24/7

09:00 - 19:00 face to face on campus

plus 24/7 support by phone and chat

Alternative Access

The table below provides alternative access to some of our systems and resources.

Service Alternative if Unavailable
Discover

If Discover is unavailable use our list of databases which you can filter by subject. Here are links to our full text journal databases and our eBook databases. Links to eBooks from your Reading Lists via MyBeckett should still work.

You can also try our Subject Guides for subject specific resources.

Further links to our multidisciplinary databases for journal articles and eBooks are below:

Journal articles:

Cambridge Core Journals

EBSCO

Emerald

Sage

Science Direct

Taylor and Francis

Wiley

Ebooks:

Ebook Central

VLEbooks

Online access to journal articles and databases

If there is an issue with a specific resource please search Discover or browse our list of databases to see if there are any alternatives.

If the usual way of accessing resources either via the Databases A-Z or via Discover is not working please use the Alternative Links for Databases and Journals page and use the links in column 2 "Alternate link 2 - OpenAthens".

Online access to eBooks

If eBook links aren't working try accessing them directly through the eBook collections they come from. If there is an issue with a specific eBook please search Discover to see if there are any alternatives.

If the usual way of accessing eBooks either via the eBook collections via Discover is not working please use the Alternative Links for Databases and Journals page and use the links in column 2 "Alternate link 2 - OpenAthens".

Turnitin

This page provides advice on what to do if MyBeckett or Turnitin is unavailable. Also check Turnitin status:https://turnitin.statuspage.io/ or on twitter @turnitinstatus.

We have a page to help with submitting Turnitin assignments.

MyBeckett

If your standard 'Login' is not providing access, ensure the Microsoft Authenticator App is set up.

If MyBeckett is completely unavailable this page provides direct access to Library and other services and systems.

Check Blackboard (MyBeckett) status:https://blackboardinc.statuspage.io/

We have a page to help with submitting Blackboard (non-Turnitin) assignments.

Library Website If the Library website is unavailable you can access Discover directly via this link, Journals A-Z via this link and your Reading Lists via MyBeckett.