Trade journals or magazines are written for people working in the architecture industry. They feature articles that focus on contemporary topics of interest to architect professionals and will often include industry-specific advertising and job postings. Some useful architecture trade journals we have are:
Below are statistics databases, but you might also find our lists of free statistical data on the Statistics page useful.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. .
Online access to the Census of England and Wales held on 21 March 2021 by the Office for National Statistics.
Provides statistics at European level (from the European Union statistics office in Luxembourg) that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Provides statistics on a range of areas, such as population, international trade and transportation to show comparisons between countries and regions within the EU.
The latest comprehensive range of official UK statistics about the economy, population and society at national and local level. Summaries and detailed data releases are published free of charge.
A comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. It contains single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
Ethical Consumer's primary goal is making global businesses more sustainable through consumer pressure. You can access tools and resources to make choices at the checkout simple, informed and effective to consumers. Categories include Energy, Fashion and Clothing, Food and Drink, Health and Beauty, Home and Garden, Retailers and Technology.
Collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings covering a wide range of industries within the UK. Includes statistics, analysis, forecasts, Brexit Impact Reports and insight into operation conditions, including the supply chain.
Market research reports in UK, European and US consumer markets. Mintel includes trends, statistics, news, information on brands and companies, and demographic data on a range of sectors. Please note Mintel has a 200 concurrent user license.
Mintel Trends is a trend analysis service that monitors, tracks and interprets consumer behaviour. Trends helps you understand the wider implications of changes in culture, society, brands, and markets and apply those findings for practical use. The above link has the 'Consumer Trends' filter already applied and can be found via the 'Expert Analysis' tab of Mintel.
A leading trend forecasting service containing resources for fashion, retail, consumer behaviour and marketing. Extensive reports and insights which give real time information on fashion trends to inform product designs, business decisions and strategic planning.
*28/9/23 majority of the site is available without an account by clicking ‘Access Database’. However some content (including downloads) require an account to access - see below.*
If you cannot login to your account, please try a password reset. If still unable and seeing an error regarding not accessing for 90 days or location error, please email contactus@wgsn.com from your student email account.
A patent protects new inventions and covers how things work, what they do, how they do it, what they are made of and how they are made. If a patent application is granted, it gives the owner the ability to take a legal action under civil law to try to stop others from making, using, importing or selling the invention without permission. Patents can give valuable technical information.
BSI Education explains what a British Standard is, how they are developed, and how to find information about relevant standards.
Intellectual Property Office Ipsum - Online Patent Information and Document Inspection Service this is a UK Patent Office resource which allows you to check the status of UK patents/patent applications.
GB Esp@cenet covers all GB applications published by the Intellectual Property Office under the Patents Act 1977, plus GB patents granted by the Intellectual Property Office since June 2002. The GB database is one of a number of databases available through esp@cenet through which patents from Europe and WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization), and information about patents worldwide, are available.
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) produces the Patent Full-Text and Full- Page Image Database. Coverage is from 1790 onwards for issued US Patents, full-text from 1976 onwards. Google Patents also searches information from the USPTO.
Other search services include Patents.com and FreePatentsOnline.
Patent Pal makes available a toolbar containing over 30 unique patent related searches and other features. You can download this toolbar to your browser.
Find more by searching Discover:
Your essential resource to find building product information online (previously called RIBA Product Selector)
Provides access to construction components and equipment information suppliers, and gives up to date supplier information from more than 10,000 companies. It includes full text catalogues, CAD drawings, data sheets, handbooks, reference manuals, selector guides, and brochures. You can search for product names, company names, trade names, and component names.
This is the database for all publications from the British Standards Institute (BSI). It includes current, historic, and draft British Standards; BSI adopted European and international standards; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries.
Please note you will need to download File Open to be able to download the full standards. Rather than download, you can view the document by clicking on 'Quick View' but please note it isn't always the full version.
Comprehensive source of technical information standards and legislation for construction industry professionals. Includes Building Regulations Approved Documents, Codes of Practice, Specimen Contract Documents, Architects' Journal and the SCI Blue Book.
Please note, for British Standards please search the British Standards Online database.
