Journals (also known as periodicals, serials or magazines) are published on a regular basis and cover a particular subject or profession. Because they are published frequently, they are an excellent source of up-to-date information.
Each journal issue contains a number of articles, written by different authors, all of which will relate to the subject covered by the journal. Different types of journals are published, these include:
Journals often contain more specialised information than books, so you will use them as your academic interests develop, and they are useful for reading about more niche or specific topics.
See the Finding Information page which explains what searching techniques there are so that you can find the most relevant information for your needs. It also has tips on saving results and how to evaluate your sources.
These are some of your key journals. You may also find the Art, Design and Fashion journals useful.
The icons tell you whether these are available online or in print . Print journals are on the third floor of the Sheila Silver Library.
For a full list of all the Library's online journals go to:
You can also search Discover to see if we have a journal in print:
Discover is your academic search engine, which searches most resources including books, journals and databases available from Leeds Beckett Library. Discover is a great place to start your research, by using the tabbed search box below, or via the direct Discover link.
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984. Also including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Journals from Cambridge University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine.
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) is an aggregation of open access content from UK and worldwide repositories and open access journals. It provides a range of services including discovery, analytics, and text mining access. The aggregated content includes metadata (24m records) and open access research outputs (about 1.8m full text items) from more than 667 repositories, from 10,351 journals in the UK and worldwide (currently 70 countries).
The DOAJ provides free, full text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals from around the world. There are over 19,000 open access titles, covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1 million records.
A regularly updated, digitized journal archive providing you with a wide range of scholarly content. A key resource for Humanities and Social Sciences. This is an archive so the current issues will not be available straight away, but you will always get from volume 1, issue 1 for every journal title.
Leeds Beckett subscribes to the Arts and Sciences Collection I, II and III, which covers archaeology, classical studies, economics, geography, history, language, music, performing and visual arts, political science, sociology.
PressReader has over 5000 publications from over 100 countries. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print. Some titles that you can access include Computer Arts, The Guardian, T3 and lots more. It covers a vast amount of subjects from Art and Design (Wallpaper magazine) to Zoology (BBC Wildlife).
As a Leeds Beckett student you can read all these publications - just sign in with your Leeds Beckett email and password. For additional features, such as adding favourite publications and setting up email alerts, register for a PressReader account by clicking the "User" icon in the top right hand corner of the screen. We recommend the desktop version, as the app needs to be re-authenticated weekly via accessing 'https://www-pressreader-com.leedsbeckett.idm.oclc.org/catalog' on your device and opening/installing app when prompted.
The largest and most comprehensive resource in the UK for research and information on all aspects of architecture. The collections included are international in scope and cover architectural theory, practice and history as well as allied subjects, and include periodicals as well as drawings, photographs, manuscripts and archives.
Full text access to over 380 Sage Publication titles subscribed to by The Library mainly in the social sciences, including titles on law (mainly crime and criminal justice), business, humanities, science, technology and medicine.
Collection of eBooks and ejournals which mainly covers the subject areas of: Computer Science, Engineering, Business, Management and Accounting, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, Health Sciences and Psychology.
Publishers of scholarly journals, books, eBooks, reference works, and databases, the content spans all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Database of references to some books and journal articles taken from a wide variety of subject areas. Full text access is only available to some 400 of the thousands of publications listed. You can only see the full text of those items that have an open lock symbol next to them. If no such symbol appears you do not have full text access.
For a full list of all of the Library's databases, go to:
All of the sources you use in your work have to be referenced using the Leeds Beckett Harvard style. For example, a journal article you use needs to have a citation in the text:
(Wu et al., 2025)
and a corresponding reference at the end of your work:
Wu, Y., Patuano, A., Mashhoodi, B., Lenzholzer, S., Acred, A. and Zertuche, L.N. (2025) How small green spaces cool urban neighbourhoods: optimising distribution, size and shape. Landscape and Urban Planning. [Online]. 253, pp. 1-15. Available from: <https://doi.org/10.1016/j.landurbplan.2024.105224>.
You can find guidelines and lots of examples on the Skills for Learning website:
