A collection of databases/services that provide maps and map data of Great Britain. Data is available either to download, to use with appropriate software such as geographical information systems (GIS) or computer-aided design (CAD), or as online maps.
Leeds Beckett does not subscribe to all of the Digimap databases/services. Our subscription gives you access to: Ordnance Survey; Historic; Geology; Marine; Environment; Aerial; Lidar; Global; Society; Verisk; agCensus.
Please note Digimap can only be accessed within the United Kingdom.
Datasets held by Natural England are available for download. The data is suitable for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS). Other digital data, such as background mapping, is not included.
ARCHI UK is adatabase of more than 200,000 British Archaeological Sites and includes free access to old British mpas, searchable by placename, coordinate or postcode.
GeoHive by Ordnance Survey Ireland
GeoHive is an initiative by Ordnance Survey Ireland to provide easy access to publically available spatial data.
National Library of Scotland Maps
You can access and view maps that have been scanned as high-resolution, colour, zoomable images. The maps date between 1560 and 1964 and relate primarily to Scotland but also include maps of England, Wales, Ireland, Belgium and Jamaica.
A searchable database that contains old maps from worldwide libraries.
The Ordnance Survey's free digital map product. They are regularly updated and enable you to analyse data, build interactive websites and create visuals. You can use OS OpenData map datasets in any way and for any purpose as long as you acknowledge the copyright and the source of the data: [Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right (year)].
For each country and region information is given on the size, total length of coastline, percent of Earth's land occupied by the country, population, description and maps.
We have printed Ordnance Survey maps in the Library – please look at Ordnance Survey maps on Discover to find out which titles we have in stock.
The British Geological Survey publishes geological maps of Great Britain and we have a selection in the Library. please look at British Geological Survey maps on Discover to find out which titles we have.
Also, the Leeds Local History Library has numerous maps of Leeds and Yorkshire, including geological ones.
If you are looking for a map of a different area you could look at the British Geological Survey website for a list of available publications and then borrow one as an Interlibrary Loan if you are a final year or postgraduate student.
Alternatively, Leeds University have a set of the "British Geological Survey. 1:250 000 series" in their Edward Boyle Library. You could consult these by applying for SCONUL Access.
