Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. *Please note we do not have access to the Insights content.
Includes statistics such as:
Online access to the Census of England and Wales held on 21 March 2021 by the Office for National Statistics.
Provides statistics at European level (from the European Union statistics office in Luxembourg) that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Provides statistics on a range of areas, such as population, international trade and transportation to show comparisons between countries and regions within the EU.
The latest comprehensive range of official UK statistics about the economy, population and society at national and local level. Summaries and detailed data releases are published free of charge.
A comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. It contains single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
Ethical Consumer's primary goal is making global businesses more sustainable through consumer pressure. You can access tools and resources to make choices at the checkout simple, informed and effective to consumers. Categories include Energy, Fashion and Clothing, Food and Drink, Health and Beauty, Home and Garden, Retailers and Technology.
Collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings covering a wide range of industries within the UK. Includes statistics, analysis, forecasts, Brexit Impact Reports and insight into operation conditions, including the supply chain.
Market research reports in UK, European and US consumer markets. Mintel includes trends, statistics, news, information on brands and companies, and demographic data on a range of sectors. Please note Mintel has a 200 concurrent user license.
Mintel Trends is a trend analysis service that monitors, tracks and interprets consumer behaviour. Trends helps you understand the wider implications of changes in culture, society, brands, and markets and apply those findings for practical use. The above link has the 'Consumer Trends' filter already applied and can be found via the 'Expert Analysis' tab of Mintel.
A leading trend forecasting service, containing resources for fashion design, real time information on trends and portfolios of resources connected to product categories.
*28/9/23 majority of the site is available without an account by clicking ‘Access Database’. However some content (including downloads) require an account to access - see below.*
If you cannot login to your account, please try a password reset. If still unable and seeing an error regarding not accessing for 90 days or location error, please email contactus@wgsn.com from your student email account.
This is the database for all publications from the British Standards Institute (BSI). It includes current, historic, and draft British Standards; BSI adopted European and international standards; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries.
Please note you will need to download File Open to be able to download the full standards. Rather than download, you can view the document by clicking on 'Quick View' but please note it isn't always the full version.
Comprehensive source of technical information standards and legislation for construction industry professionals. Includes Building Regulations Approved Documents, Codes of Practice, Specimen Contract Documents, Architects' Journal and the SCI Blue Book.
Please note, for British Standards please search the British Standards Online database.
Trade journals or magazines are written for people working in the architecture industry. They feature articles that focus on contemporary topics of interest to architect professionals and will often include industry-specific advertising and job postings. Some useful architecture trade journals we have are:
Creative Review focuses on commercial creativity, design, advertising, photography, branding, digital products, film, and gaming. Updated daily with analysis, comment, opinion and advice on life in the creative industries. As well as the online content, you can also access every print issue of the Creative Review magazine in the digital archive, from 1980 onwards.
Before accessing you will need to register with your LBU email, as per below. After which you will be able to access the content. (To log back in, click on the head and shoulders icon top right of the homepage).
Apologies, but after registration, there is a 48 hour delay to access the print version of Creative Review online.
The magazine DETAIL, which appears in German and English, devotes every issue to specific topics in construction and building details in architecture. Current international architecture projects are documented with beautiful photographs and comparable drawings at a scale of 1:20. Twice a year, the magazine features the special supplement GREEN and two issues of DETAIL interior.
Your essential resource to find building product information online (previously called RIBA Product Selector)
Provides access to construction components and equipment information suppliers, and gives up to date supplier information from more than 10,000 companies. It includes full text catalogues, CAD drawings, data sheets, handbooks, reference manuals, selector guides, and brochures. You can search for product names, company names, trade names, and component names.
A building product information website that includes 10,500 manufacturer listings by alpha or CSI section, 7000 BIM Models, 900 specs all in the CSI 3 part format, 300 SpecWizards for automated spec writing and 7,000 CAD Details. Free to use and no registration required.
A showcase of over 120,000 design products and materials, linking architectural projects with the furnishings, materials and fittings that have been used in their execution.
A building products directory featuring thousands of UK building products and construction material manufacturers. Useful for finding building products, construction materials and interior design ideas.
UK online database of building materials, including links to company websites. You can search by company and brand, or by product or material. Requires free registration.
Created with government funding so independent of companies or trade, GreenSpec promotes sustainable building products and materials.
Working across five environmental sectors, ESI.info offers the broadest mix of supplier and product information on the market, combined with insightful articles and case studies to keep architects up to date with sector innovations.
A knowledge centre for developments and innovations in materials, and their applications for architecture and design. Materia includes a search engine to their knowledge bank of materials.
Find and compare materials and connect directly with suppliers.
Search for building product information and manufacturers by keyword or Masterformat. Fast-track design, specifications, and document creation with downloadable, insertable product information.
Online catalogue and expert knowledge of new materials and the latest high-tech and environmentally friendly products. Aims to inspire architects and designers looking to transform the structure, spaces and surfaces of their projects.
Website of the Italian architecture journal Abitare. As well as information on the articles printed in the journals (which you can read in the Library), it also contains architecture news updated daily, and information on companies, buildings, design and products.
From The Architects' Journal, contains architecture news updated daily, and information on companies, buildings, design and products.
A leading online source of information for architects around the world.
A site designed to make architecture more connected and open-minded, and bring together designers from around the world to introduce new ideas from all disciplines.
AD is the international design authority, featuring the work of top architects and designers.
Supplements the monthly magazine with expanded multimedia project stories, in-depth interviews with giants of architecture, daily news updates, weekly book reviews, green architecture stories and archival material, as well as links to people and products.
An independent gateway to architecture and design information and videos. Contains sections on news and trends, products and material, people, and industry news.
Made by the publisher's of Building Design magazine and provides around the clock news, videos, blogs, culture, reviews of the latest buildings from all corners of the world.
An online magazine dedicated to modern design.
One of the most popular and influential architecture and design blogs on the internet.
Website of the Royal Institute of British Architects. Includes a directory of all RIBA's members, their Library Catalogue, online exhibitions and information portals on topics such as sustainability.
Website from the global magazine that features the latest in architecture, design, fashion and interiors.
Architect's Pocket Book
This handy pocket book brings together a wealth of useful information that architects need on a daily basis - on-site or in the studio. It provides clear guidance and invaluable detail on a wide range of issues, from planning policy through environmental design to complying with Building Regulations, from structural and services matters to materials characteristics and detailing. This fifth edition includes the updating of regulations, standards and sources across a wide range of topics. Compact and easy to use, the Architect's Pocket Book has sold well over 90,000 copies to the nation's architects, architecture students, designers and construction professionals who do not have an architectural background but need to understand the basics, fast. This is the famous little blue book that you can't afford to be without.
The Architect in Practice
Throughout its many editions, The Architect in Practice has remained a leading textbook used in the education of architects. While the content of the book has developed, the message and philosophy has remained constant: to provide students of architecture and young practitioners with a readable guide to the profession, outlining an architect's duties to their client and contractor, the key aspects of running a building contract, and the essentials of management, finance and drawing office procedure. The eleventh edition follows in that tradition. The text has been brought up to date to ensure it follows the new RIBA Plan of Work 2013 as the guide to the architect's workflow. In addition, a number of changes to standard forms of contract were made with the publication of the JCT 2011 suite of contracts, and the RIBA Standard Form for the Appointment of an Architect 2010 (2012 Revision). These new forms are fully covered. In addition, the opportunity has been taken to reorganise the layout so that the content flows in a way that is more consistent with current architectural practice, and to deal with the increasing use of BIM. The eleventh edition of The Architect in Practice continues to provide the guidance and advice all students and practising architects need in the course of their studies and in their profession.
Building Regulations in Brief
This ninth edition of the most popular and trusted guide reflects all the latest amendments to the Building Regulations, planning permission and the Approved Documents in England and Wales. This includes coverage of the new Approved Document Q on security, and a second part to Approved Document M which divides the regulations for 'dwellings' and 'buildings other than dwellings'. A new chapter has been added to incorporate these changes and to make the book more user friendly. Giving practical information throughout on how to work with (and within) the Regulations, this book enables compliance in the simplest and most cost-effective manner possible. The no-nonsense approach of Building Regulations in Brief cuts through any confusion and explains the meaning of the Regulations. Consequently, it has become a favourite for anyone in the building industry or studying, as well as those planning to have work carried out on their home.
Metric Handbook
Consistently updated since 2015 by expert authors in the field Significantly revised in reference to changing building types and construction standards New chapters added on data centres and logistics facilities Sustainable design integrated into chapters throughout Over 100,000 copies sold to successive generations of architects and designers This book belongs in every design office. The Metric Handbook is the major handbook of planning and design data for architects and architecture students. Covering basic design data for all the major building types, it is the ideal starting point for any project. For each building type, the book gives the basic design requirements and all the principal dimensional data, and succinct guidance on how to use the information and what regulations the designer needs to be aware of. As well as buildings, the Metric Handbook deals with broader aspects of design such as materials, acoustics, and lighting, and general design data on human dimensions and space requirements. The Metric Handbook is the unique reference for solving everyday planning problems.
Spon's Architects' and Builders' Price Book 2020
SPON'S ARCHITECTS' AND BUILDERS' PRICE BOOK 2020, compiled by AECOM, still provides the most accurate, detailed and professionally relevant construction price information for the UK. Its unique Tender Index, updated through the year (2015 = 100), gives an ongoing reality check and allows you to adjust for changing market conditions. Although it suits a wide range of project sizes, this is the only price book which sets out a detailed cost base for contracts exceeding £4,000,000 in value. Use the access code inside the front cover of the book to get set up with an ebook of this 2020 edition on the VitalSource® Bookshelf platform, available for access and use until the end of December 2020. As well as an overhaul of prices, several new items have been added, including: a mental health cost model a primary health care cost model expanded ranges of entrance matwells and of Forticrete blocks ... along with the standard features you have come to expect from SPON'S ARCHITECTS' AND BUILDERS' PRICE BOOK: 20,000 prices for the most frequently specified items, the majority with labour constants and detailed build-ups Hundreds of alternative materials prices for the more unusual items Detailed guidance on wage rates, daywork, cost limits and allowances, property insurance and professional fees, plus useful formulae, design criteria and trade association addresses Updates, free of charge, twice a year - see inside for registration details. Updates are available online at www.pricebooks.co.uk
Find more by searching Discover:
The Architect's Guide to Effective Self-Presentation
In today's increasingly competitive marketplace, the creation of a successful resume is a vital skill needed by architectural students and professionals alike. This book demystifies the architecture resume, its working strategy and its purposes. The book guides readers through the process of thinking through, prioritizing, characterizing and expressing career profiles in written and visual form. Readers will learn about presentation and the evolving vehicles for showcasing that presentation. In addition, the timely and important issue of how to transform one type of presentation from a hard copy, to an on-screen review, to an interactive web-page is covered in detail. The book re-evaluates traditional concepts of resume making, seeking to define the resume as a detailed process of marketing oneself. By doing so, the text provides a new and revised set of tools for thinking about the creation of an architecture resume. In tandem with the author's other book The Architect's Portfolio or on its own, this book is essential reading for anyone looking to further their architectural career.
The Architect's Portfolio
The creation of a successful portfolio is a vital skill needed by architectural students and professionals alike. In a highly competitive global market the accomplished representation of the architect's work must be able to turn opportunities into triumphs. This book offers a fresh step-by-step approach to achieving a reflective, attractive and successful representation of one's work. Structured in four stages it takes the reader through each step needed in the creation of a successful portfolio, from understanding yourself and your market, to planning, designing and producing it. Illustrated throughout in full color, the book includes case study portfolios from the USA, UK, Europe and Asia which demonstrate the steps in the process for both practitioners and students, from sketch trials to full-colour stage lay-outs. These contributions come from architects all over the world, providing terrific insight into current practices and inspiration and ideas. This is essential reading for anyone putting together an architectural portfolio.
Careers in Creative Industries
Comprising original empirical studies of career-making in the creative sector, this book takes in theatre, music, film, TV, visual arts, fashion design, and architecture as creative industries. This format facilitates comparative analysis of central features of career-making within as well as across both specific industries and national contexts. The book is at the forefront and intersection of contemporary career research and research on work in creative industries / the cultural economy, intertwining both subjective and objective approaches to and dimensions of career. The contributors move beyond the dichotomies that have characterized recent career theory and work on creative industries to examine factors that facilitate and restrict horizontal and vertical mobility. Spanning a diverse range of case studies, from German theatre to Danish fashion, this book is a valuable reference for scholars of the creative and cultural industries and important reading for thoser interested in careers more generally.
Don't Get a Job... Make a Job: how to make it as a creative graduate
Too often a design or architecture degree is seen as a means to an end (a job in an established practice). But imagine for one moment that there are no employers, no firms to send your CV to, no interviews to be had – what would you do? How would you forge your own path after graduation? The current economic climate has seen many graduates chasing a finite number of positions. The most ingenious and driven designers have found weird and wonderful ways of making opportunities for themselves, often by applying their skills across the creative disciplines of art, design, architecture and interiors. Knowing what you want from your design career and being able to adapt your strategy to suit is basic and vital – just like in the wild, designers need to evolve. The book celebrates the various strategies that students and graduates are taking to gain exposure, while also including interviews and inspirational advice from those who are now enjoying success as a result of their creative approach to employment.
Portfolio Design
Harold Linton's Portfolio Design has been the standard reference for students and young professionals in architecture, urban planning, landscape, and interior design who want to make the best impression possible in their applications for undergraduate and graduate school admissions, design grants, competitions, or in a job interview. Now, with the fourth edition, the book is better than ever. All the features that made Portfolio Design the go-to guide--how to assemble a portfolio that will display your talents and qualifications to the best advantage; advice on formats, content, sequencing, page layout design, and binding systems; when to print and when to go digital; and the latest in promoting yourself on the Internet--are still there and updated. The portfolio examples are new and more numerous than ever (more than 400 portfolio pages displayed), and all in color. Drawn from a wide array of current student and professional portfolios, both print and electronic, the examples illustrate many and varied graphic design alternatives that demonstrate what will capture the reviewer's attention--and secure you an offer. While the print portfolio is far from dead, the technology has been revolutionized, so the text now focuses on the new standard operating procedure: portfolios designed and generally produced, sent, and viewed online. Portfolio pointers from industry professionals and educators complement the practical advice given by Harold Linton, who has taught portfolio design to generations of students.
