It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Facilities Management, Project Management, Construction Management & Real Estate
Top tips from your Academic Librarians
Book an appointment with your Academic Librarians who can help you find resources including journal articles, statistics and more.
Use the Skills for Learning website for step-by-step guidance on how to plan and manage your workload, and how to structure your dissertation.
Search Discover for books on how to write your dissertation.
Look at the Discover FAQs to get the most out of using this resource.
Skills for Learning offers support on a variety of academic writing skills: report writing, writing skills for international students, literature reviews and time management advice. See the Skills for Learning website for step by step guidance on how to plan and manage your workload, and how to structure your dissertation.
They also run workshops, bookable via MyHub, on topics such as:
The DART-Europe portal offers free access to full text European doctoral theses. The portal gives you access to over 360,000 open access research theses from over 500 universities in 27 European countries.
Access to ALL theses produced by UK Higher Education for researchers Worldwide. You can search the EThOS database without having to register. You do, however, need to register and log in if you want to download a thesis from EThOS or to order digitisation of a thesis.
Provides access to 5 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, with nearly 3 million full text dissertations available for download. Please note that, despite global coverage, much of the content is North American.
The Library also has some hard copies of old dissertations and theses. You can consult these to see how previous students conducted and presented their work.
Search on Discover for dissertations and theses held in the Library:
Writing your dissertation
Dissertation Research and Writing for Construction Students by S. G. NaoumUser-friendly, easy to dip into guide for all Built Environment students Takes the reader from the stage of choosing a topic to writing a well-structured dissertation Best case practice illustrated with numerous examples, case studies and references Dissertation Research and Writing for Construction Students covers topic selection, research planning, data collection and methodology, as well as structuring and writing the dissertation - in fact, everything needed for a successful write-up. A new section advising students on the use of the SPSS software 'Statistical Package for Social Sciences' will help readers make the best use of this tool. New examples and references ensure that this new edition of the bestselling construction dissertation guide is right up to speed with current practice. This is the ideal resource for students involved in research in Construction Management, Building and Quantity Surveying.
Research Methods for Construction by Richard F. Fellows; Anita M. M. LiuResearch Methods for Construction will help you instil rigour into your problem-solving, and into your reports and publications. It will be of value to construction, surveying, architecture and civil engineering students undertaking research, whether for bachelors and masters degree dissertations, or for masters and doctoral research degree theses. Now in its Fourth Edition, this remains one of the few books to provide guidance on research formulation, methodologies, and methods specifically for construction students. Three main sections - Producing a Proposal, Executing the Research and Reporting the Results discuss the key issues in research and examine the primary approaches, both qualitative and quantitative. The methods adopted for scientific and engineering experiments, model building and simulations are discussed, as well as those employed for research into management, social and economic issues. The authors examine the requirements for data and analysis, including the important statistical considerations and a range of qualitative techniques that enable construction researchers to appreciate what needs to be evaluated in devising how research may be carried out effectively and efficiently. This new edition has been updated to reflect current debates and concerns, including ethical issues, legislation and codes of practice concerning the collection, processing, storage, use and disposal of data. Pressures of time and funding to carry out the empirical work all too often lead to a lack of attention to how the study should be done and why. The authors address the importance of explaining the philosophical approach adopted (ontology, epistemology) and the consequent methodology. They advocate close scrutiny of the methods available for appropriateness, both academically and practically. The fundamental theme of the book remains to facilitate a researcher's informed and justified selection of a philosophical paradigm and of appropriate methods to execute the research.
Writing a Built Environment Dissertation by Peter FarrellAs a built environment student you are likely to be required to research, write and submit a dissertation as a core component of your degree studies. As a vocational profession, students of the built environment often have strong practical aspirations. Writing a Built Environment Dissertation provides practical guidance and will help to steer you into a position where you can develop a good dissertation by mixing your practical strengths with more theoretical tools. The book is ordered around a common dissertation structure: that is, it starts with material that should be in the introduction and finishes with material that should be in the conclusion. Each chapter provides a commentary on the kind of information that you should put in each chapter of your dissertation, supported by a variety of examples using a range of methodological designs. The book has a strong focus on data collection, data analysis, reliability and validity - all areas where student dissertations are often weak. Material that will help you think about study skills and ethics is embedded throughout the book, and the chapters on qualitative and quantitative analysis will show you how to carry out a rigorous analysis while avoiding some of the complexity in statistical work. If you are an under-graduate student in the final year of an honours degree programme in the built environment, or perhaps a student at masters or PhD level and have been away from academic study for some time, then this book will help you to write a more innovative and thorough dissertation.
Writing Built Environment Dissertations and Projects by Peter Farrell; Fred Sherratt (As told to); Alan Richardson (As told to)Writing Built Environment Dissertations and Projects will help you to write a good dissertation or project by giving you a good understanding of what should be included, and showing you how to use data collection and analysis tools in the course of your research. Addresses prominent weaknesses in under-graduate dissertations including weak data collection; superficial analysis and poor reliability and validity Includes many more in-depth examples making it easy to understand and assimilate the concepts presented Issues around study skills and ethics are embedded throughout the book and the many examples encourage you to consider the concepts of reliability and validity Second edition includes a new chapter on laboratory based research projects Supporting website with sample statistical calculations and additional examples from a wider range of built environment subjects