See our popular titles:
If you know the title of the online (electronic) journal you want, use:
You can also search Discover to see if we have a journal in print:
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. *Please note we do not have access to the Insights content.
The latest comprehensive range of official UK statistics about the economy, population and society at national and local level. Summaries and detailed data releases are published free of charge.
Datasets from the last six UK census: 1961 through to 2011, provided through the UK Data Service. Statistics from the UK censuses help paint a picture of the nation and how we live. They provide a detailed snapshot of the population and its characteristics and underpin funding allocation to provide public services.
Provides statistics at European level (from the European Union statistics office in Luxembourg) that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Provides statistics on a range of areas, such as population, international trade and transportation to show comparisons between countries and regions within the EU.
A patent protects new inventions and covers how things work, what they do, how they do it, what they are made of and how they are made. If a patent application is granted, it gives the owner the ability to take a legal action under civil law to try to stop others from making, using, importing or selling the invention without permission. Patents can give valuable technical information.
BSI Education explains what a British Standard is, how they are developed, and how to find information about relevant standards.
Intellectual Property Office Ipsum - Online Patent Information and Document Inspection Service this is a UK Patent Office resource which allows you to check the status of UK patents/patent applications.
GB Esp@cenet covers all GB applications published by the Intellectual Property Office under the Patents Act 1977, plus GB patents granted by the Intellectual Property Office since June 2002. The GB database is one of a number of databases available through esp@cenet through which patents from Europe and WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization), and information about patents worldwide, are available.
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) produces the Patent Full-Text and Full- Page Image Database. Coverage is from 1790 onwards for issued US Patents, full-text from 1976 onwards. Google Patents also searches information from the USPTO.
Other search services include Patents.com and FreePatentsOnline.
Patent Pal makes available a toolbar containing over 30 unique patent related searches and other features. You can download this toolbar to your browser.
Some resources, in particular law, are not searchable on Discover, so you may also want to search separately on the databases below.
The Building Cost Information Service provides cost and price data for the UK construction industry. School of Built Environment, Engineering & Computing staff and students can access this on-campus via MyBeckett and off-campus via RemoteApp.
This is the database for all publications from the British Standards Institute (BSI). It includes current, historic, and draft British Standards; BSI adopted European and international standards; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries.
Please note you will need to download File Open to be able to download the full standards. Rather than download, you can view the document by clicking on 'Quick View' but please note it isn't always the full version.
Full text for more than 2,300 journals, half of which are peer-reviewed. Full text goes back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Subjects include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. This database is updated daily.
Content on health and safety toolbox talks, case studies, industry news and research from the Construction Industry Research and Information Association (CIRIA).
Please note: we do not have access to all publications – if you require full text CIRIA publications we advise using the Construction Information Service database to find these.
Comprehensive source of technical information standards and legislation for construction industry professionals. Includes Building Regulations Approved Documents, Codes of Practice, Specimen Contract Documents, Architects' Journal and the SCI Blue Book.
Please note, for British Standards please search the British Standards Online database.
A collection of databases/services that provide maps and map data of Great Britain. Data is available either to download, to use with appropriate software such as geographical information systems (GIS) or computer-aided design (CAD), or as online maps.
Leeds Beckett does not subscribe to all of the Digimap databases/services. Our subscription gives you access to: Ordnance Survey; Historic; Geology; Marine; Environment; Aerial; Lidar; Global; Society; Verisk; agCensus.
Please note Digimap can only be accessed within the United Kingdom.
Contains articles from 103 management journals, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Emerald eBook series brings together two collection of over 1,600 titles which focus on two different areas: Business, Management & Economics, and Social Sciences.
Fame covers over 11 million companies in the UK and Ireland: Over 2 million companies in a detailed format (Financial data, contact details, number of employees, names of directors, ownership and subsidiaries, and more); 280,000 companies in a summary format; details of 1.3 million active companies not required to file/yet to file accounts; 6 million inactive companies.
A certified training programme is available – in the database click on the “?” help icon in the top right and then the training program tab.
Institution of Civil Engineers collection, but also useful to anyone researching architecture, building and the built environment, land management, property management, urban design, planning, transport and urban design.
We have access to the eBook collection up until 2016, and the full text journal archive content between 1836 and 2002 containing every peer-reviewed technical paper published by the ICE. Once you have run a search on the database you can select the years 1836-2002.
Provides access to: Construction Information Service (CIS); Environmental Management and Specify-it (via Knowledge Workspace).
Large legal database containing UK, EU and international case law, legislation (up-to-date, amended versions), legal journals, commentary texts, current awareness, and news. Very good range of practitioner texts in the Commentary section including Butterworths Company Law Handbook and Butterworths Family Law Service. Includes All England Law Reports, Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents, and Halsbury's Laws.
If required to log in to access, please use your standard university username and password - an additional Lexis account is not needed. If you cannot bypass the login page which asks for an ID, please try an alternative internet browser or go incognito in Chrome. If you are unable to download articles please use the following link and delete cookies https://signin.lexisnexis.com/lnaccess/app/ShowCookies
Contains a homepage for each practice area (Company Commercial, Property and Dispute Resolution) holding essential resources chosen and compiled by an expert team of solicitors and barristers. LexisPSL provides KnowHow, primary law, precedents, forms and excerpts from authoritative Butterworths commentary. Additionally, links to Lexis+ Library take you directly to a broader range of relevant legal resources.
If required to log in to access, please use your standard University username and password - an additional Lexis account is not needed.
MarketLine contains global market research and company analysis reports covering sectors including consumer goods, finance, food and drink and technology. Contains PESTLE Country Analysis reports for the top 50 countries in the world (GDP) and PEST country analysis of the top 100 countries (GDP). Access SWOT analysis for many major companies, just type the company name in the search box. You can also search by industry.
22/4/24 - If you encounter a recaptcha error please use an alternate browser (eg edge, firefox).
Market research reports in UK, European and US consumer markets. Mintel includes trends, statistics, news, information on brands and companies, and demographic data on a range of sectors. Please note Mintel has a 200 concurrent user license.
Provides coverage of real estate intelligence from across the United Kingdom. The database enables users to analyse deal and availability data, generate major cost and efficiency savings and aiming to create a timely, and complete view of the UK real estate industry.
The largest and most comprehensive resource in the UK for research and information on all aspects of architecture. The collections included are international in scope and cover architectural theory, practice and history as well as allied subjects, and include periodicals as well as drawings, photographs, manuscripts and archives.
Your essential resource to find building product information online (previously called RIBA Product Selector)
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. *Please note we do not have access to the Insights content.
Large legal database containing UK and EU case law, legislation (up to date revised versions), legal journals, commentary texts such as Civil Procedure (the White Book) and Law Reports such as ICLR Law Reports and Weekly Law Reports. The current awareness section is useful for keeping up-to-date. Also links to Westlaw International for access to all Westlaw content outside of the UK and Europe. Practical Law and the News section are not included in our subscription . First time users may need to register, please use your Leeds Beckett email address. First time users may need to register, please use your Leeds Beckett email address. If asked for an institution, please search and select Leeds Beckett University. If presented with a OnePass page, just click 'Sign in'.
