Journals (also known as periodicals, serials or magazines) are published on a regular basis and cover a particular subject or profession. Because they are published frequently, they are an excellent source of up-to-date information.
Each journal issue contains a number of articles, written by different authors, all of which will relate to the subject covered by the journal. Different types of journals are published, these include:
Journals often contain more specialised information than books, so you will use them as your academic interests develop, and they are useful for reading about more niche or specific topics.
See the Finding Information page which explains what searching techniques there are so that you can find the most relevant information for your needs. It also has tips on saving results and how to evaluate your sources.
These are some of your key journals. The icons tell you whether these are available online or in print . Print journals are on the third floor of the Sheila Silver Library.
(Please note that full-text access to the most recent issues of some ejournals may not be available due to publisher embargo. If full-text access to an article you are looking for is unavailable, please contact your academic librarian.)
For a full list of all the Library's online journals go to:
You can also search Discover to see if we have a journal in print:
Use Discover to search across a large number of different databases at the same time to find articles from a range of sources. Search with keywords that describe your topic to see what articles have been written:
You can also search on these separate, more subject-specific, databases to find articles:
Full text for more than 2,300 journals, half of which are peer-reviewed. Full text goes back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Subjects include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. This database is updated daily.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the year 2000. Provides comprehensive information on specific films, plays, theatres, actors, directors, TV series, film studios, musicians, genres, record labels, subcultures and youth movements. Core titles such as Variety, Billboard, Broadcasting and The Stage are included providing historical information on the full range of popular entertainment.
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 1.2 million records, with coverage dating as far back as 1938. There is full text for more than 520 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
PressReader has over 5000 publications from over 100 countries. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print. Some titles that you can access include Computer Arts, The Guardian, T3 and lots more. It covers a vast amount of subjects from Art and Design (Wallpaper magazine) to Zoology (BBC Wildlife).
As a Leeds Beckett student you can read all these publications - just sign in with your Leeds Beckett email and password. For additional features, such as adding favourite publications and setting up email alerts, register for a PressReader account by clicking the "User" icon in the top right hand corner of the screen. We recommend the desktop version, as the app needs to be re-authenticated weekly via accessing 'https://www-pressreader-com.leedsbeckett.idm.oclc.org/catalog' on your device and opening/installing app when prompted.
