Skip to main content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Accessibility Statements

Accessibility Statement for Archive and Special Collections

This accessibility statement applies to the Leeds Beckett University Archive and Special Collections website at https://libguides.leedsbeckett.ac.uk/archives

This website is run by Leeds Beckett University. We want as many people as possible to be able to use this website. For example, that means you should be able to:

  • zoom in to at least 200% without the text spilling off the screen
  • resize to a single column with no horizontal scrolling
  • navigate most of the website using just a keyboard
  • listen to most of the website using a screen reader (we used JAWS 2018 as part of our accessibility testing)
  • find content using multiple methods (e.g. navigation menu and search feature)
  • navigate most of the website using just one finger on a mobile device
  • flip content horizontally and vertically on a mobile device
  • adjust line height for most text using a browser plug-in

We’ve also made the website text as simple as possible to understand.

AbilityNet has advice on making your device easier to use if you have a disability.

The Library’s software page provides information on assistive software which may help in using our systems and websites.

How accessible this website is

We know some parts of this website are not fully accessible:

  • there are some issues with the heading structure
  • there is no inbuilt option to change the colours, font or text sizes
  • there is no inbuilt option to modify the line height or spacing of text
  • The History and Features pages have some issues which make them difficult to access using keyboard navigation

Feedback and contact information

If you need information on the content of our systems and websites in a different format (for example accessible PDF, large print, easy read, audio recording or braille) please email libraryaltformats@leedsbeckett.ac.uk. We'll consider your request and get back to you within 5 working days.

Reporting accessibility problems with this website

We’re always looking to improve the accessibility of our systems and websites. If you find any problems or think we’re not meeting accessibility requirements, contact h.loughran@leedsbeckett.ac.uk.

Enforcement procedure

The Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) is responsible for enforcing the Public Sector Bodies (Websites and Mobile Applications) (No. 2) Accessibility Regulations 2018 (the ‘accessibility regulations’). If you’re not happy with how we respond to your complaint, contact the Equality Advisory and Support Service (EASS).

Contacting us by phone or visiting us in person

The Library supports the use of The Next Generation Text Service. Alternatively you can email us or contact us by online chat

You can find out all the ways you can get in touch with us on the Library website Contact Us page.

Technical information about this website’s accessibility

Leeds Beckett University is committed to making its websites accessible, in accordance with the Public Sector Bodies (Websites and Mobile Applications) (No. 2) Accessibility Regulations 2018.

Compliance status

This website is partially compliant with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines version 2.1 AA standard, due to the non-compliances listed below.

Non-accessible content

The content listed below is non-accessible for the following reasons.

Non-compliance with the accessibility regulations

The heading structure could be improved to work better for screen readers. This relates to WCAG 2.1 success criterion 1.3.1 (Info and Relationships). We are currently investigating further what improvements we can make, although we are limited by the technical constraints of the externally provided system used to host the website.

On the History page, the Read more links are not selectable when tabbing through the page, so it appears that these cannot be selected with the keyboard. This fails WCAG 2.1 success criterion 2.1.1 (Keyboard). 

When tabbing through the Features page, the tab order is not logical from 'Ernest and the Lanterns' onwards - it is not possible to see what is selected on the page, and when clicking enter 'Ernest and the Lanterns' repeatedly opens after each tab. This fails WCAG 2.1 success criteria 2.4.3 (Focus Order) and 2.4.7 (Focus Visible). 

We are currently investigating these issues further.

Content that’s not within the scope of the accessibility regulations

External content
We link to the Leeds Beckett University AtoM Online Archive. The Online Archive is a catalogue of our holdings. We use AtoM (Access to Memory) archival description software to make this catalogue available.

We are aware that there are accessibility issues with the Online Archive. These include the absence of a ‘Skip to Main Content’ link and instances of: missing alternative text; text and other elements such as icons and buttons with low contrast against the background colour; text which is not visible when the size is increased to 200%; accessibility issues with the Search box and Advanced search options form (e.g. some form fields not marked up correctly); extra content which appears on focus and cannot consistently be dismissed by the user; keyboard operability issues (e.g. some items which cannot be accessed using the keyboard, and instances where it is difficult to tell where the keyboard focus is); duplicated page titles; and issues accessing the site on a mobile device (e.g. inability to zoom in using just one finger). These issues may also make it difficult to access the Online Archive using screen reading software.

We are restricted by the limitations of AtoM software, which has been developed over a long time by many different collaborators. There are moves within the AtoM community to resolve as many accessibility issues as possible retrospectively. AtoM is community-driven, and the developers are looking to work with one of the more prominent Canadian institutions to sponsor accessibility development in successive iterations of the software. 

There are also some accessibility issues with items in the online archive, however these are exempt from the Public Sector Bodies (Websites and Mobile Applications) (No. 2) Accessibility Regulations 2018 as they are:

“reproductions of items in heritage collections that cannot be made fully accessible because of either—

(i)the incompatibility of the accessibility requirement with either the preservation of the item concerned or the authenticity of the reproduction; or

(ii)the unavailability of automated and cost-efficient solutions that would easily extract the text of manuscripts or other items in heritage collections and transform it into content compatible with the accessibility requirement;”

If you encounter any issues using the Online Archive or would like further information about it please contact us.

PDFs and other documents
The accessibility regulations do not require us to fix PDFs or other documents published before 23 September 2018 if they’re not essential to providing our services. For example, we do not plan to fix the PDF documents linked to from the Features tab.

What we’re doing to improve accessibility

We are currently investigating and working to fix the accessibility issues we have identified and detailed in the Non-accessible content section above.

Preparation of this accessibility statement

This statement was prepared on 02 June 2021. It was last reviewed on 02 June 2021.

This website was last tested during January - February 2021. The testing was carried out by an individual member of Leeds Beckett University Library staff with advice and input from colleagues.

The following pages on the Archive website were tested: Welcome, Contact, Features, History, Collections

The pages were tested manually for conformance with WCAG 2.1 Level AA. The Gov.uk detailed checklist was used for testing, supported by guidance notes compiled from various sources including Understanding WCAG 2.1, and tools such as Colour Contrast Analyser, WAVE Evaluation Tool, ATbar and Line Height Adjuster. Google Chrome web browser was used for testing, on a Windows PC or Android mobile device as appropriate.