Useful Library class numbers
| Class Number | Subject |
|---|---|
| 340 | Law Collection |
| 343.078624 | Construction Law |
| 343.07869 | Building Codes |
| 624.0681 | Construction - Financial Management |
| 650 | Management |
| 690 | Construction of Buildings |
| 692 | Building materials |
| 696 | Utilities |
Standards are nationally or internationally recognised ways of setting specifications or tests for products or procedures. In the UK the standards body is the British Standards Institution. Many UK standards are harmonised across Europe (EN) or Internationally (ISO).
British Standards can be searched using:
This is the database for all publications from the British Standards Institute (BSI). It includes current, historic, and draft British Standards; BSI adopted European and international standards; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries.
Please note you will need to download File Open to be able to download the full standards. Rather than download, you can view the document by clicking on 'Quick View' but please note it isn't always the full version.
America has a variety of different standardising bodies for different industries. The AISC (American Institute of Steel Construction) provides free access to its standards online.
Slides on finding legal materials can be found by following the links below.
You might also like to work through the online tutorial in the box below. To switch on accessibility view, click on Discover more available options (three dots icon) and Accessibility View. This displays the tutorial in a high-contrast design with full keyboard functionality and screen reader access to all content.
A selection of legal information databases. Westlaw and Lexis contain different material so remember to check both.
Comprehensive source of technical information standards and legislation for construction industry professionals. Includes Building Regulations Approved Documents, Codes of Practice, Specimen Contract Documents, Architects' Journal and the SCI Blue Book.
Please note, for British Standards please search the British Standards Online database.
Contains the full content of over 180 law textbooks from Oxford University Press.
Large legal database containing UK, EU and international case law, legislation (up-to-date, amended versions), legal journals, commentary texts, current awareness, and news. Very good range of practitioner texts in the Commentary section including Butterworths Company Law Handbook and Butterworths Family Law Service. Includes All England Law Reports, Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents, and Halsbury's Laws.
Contains a homepage for each practice area (Company Commercial, Property and Dispute Resolution) holding essential resources chosen and compiled by an expert team of solicitors and barristers. LexisPSL provides KnowHow, primary law, precedents, forms and excerpts from authoritative Butterworths commentary. Additionally, links to Lexis+ Library take you directly to a broader range of relevant legal resources.
If required to log in to access, please use your standard University username and password - an additional Lexis account is not needed.
Westlaw International is a vast global legal research library built on some of the world's best legal, news and business information. First time users may need to register, please use your Leeds Beckett email address. If asked for an institution, please search and select Leeds Beckett University.
Please see the student FAQ for help accessing/using Westlaw International.
.
Large legal database containing UK and EU case law, legislation (up to date revised versions), legal journals, commentary texts such as Civil Procedure (the White Book) and Law Reports such as ICLR Law Reports and Weekly Law Reports. The current awareness section is useful for keeping up-to-date. Also links to Westlaw International for access to all Westlaw content outside of the UK and Europe. First time users may need to register, please use your Leeds Beckett email address. If asked for an institution, please search and select Leeds Beckett University. If presented with a OnePass page, just click 'Sign in'. Practical Law and the News section are not included in our subscription.
If you look at page 52 of Quote, Unquote you will see what information you need to reference a Case in Harvard. We do not mention Westlaw, or any other database name, as Westlaw is not the publisher. Instead we just provide the case reference. An example of a case reference is:
Carlill v. Carbolic Smoke Ball Co. [1893] 1 Q.B. 256.
You should see this information at the top of the Case in Westlaw and other databases.
Uk government publications (Acts, Statutes, Bills, Legislation) are on page 82 of Quote, Unquote
Again you do not mention the database provider, just the title, and date, and chapter number (c.) if there is one. See the example below, and look at Quote, Unquote for more examples:
Further and Higher Education Act 1991 (c. 13) London: HMSO.
Please note: you might be asked to use the OSCOLA referencing system rather than Harvard. See the box below for more information about OSCOLA. Always check with your tutor to find out which one you need to use. If you are still not certain just email your Academic Librarians.
OSCOLA Referencing Guide (4th edn, 2012) - the University of Oxford Tip: use the keyboard shortcut "Ctrl+F" to search in the PDF document for a relevant word - e.g. "Footnote" or "Judge".
OSCOLA Quick Reference Guide - the University of Oxford
OSCOLA 2006 Citing International Law section (the 2012 4th edn does not cover international law).
