Skip to Main Content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Building Surveying, Quantity Surveying and Architectural Technology

Databases of use across all subject areas

On this page we look at the specific Library resources that will be of interest if you're studying a particular subject area. To see the main databases that are used across Building Surveying, Quantity Surveying and Architectural Technology, with full descriptions, please see the Databases & Journals tab.

Architectural Technology

  • Art and Architecture in Video  Over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis.
  • Avery Index A dedicated architecture database that indexes articles from key journals such as 'Domus' and 'El Croquis' that we have in print. To find out if we have articles in full text, you can search for the journal title on the Ejournals A-Z or the Library Catalogue for printed journals.
  • Construction Information Service (CIS)  contains full text and image of Architects' Journal.
  • CORE The world's largest collection of open access research papers.
  • Detail Magazine The magazine DETAIL, which appears in German and English, devotes every issue to specific topics in construction and building details in architecture. Current international architecture projects are documented with beautiful photographs and comparable drawings at a scale of 1:20. Twice a year, the magazine features the special supplement GREEN and two issues of DETAIL interior.
  • Science Direct A broad collection of scientific and technical journal articles, but also has some arts and humanities titles.

Building Surveying

Some of these building costs resources might be of particular interest to Building Surveying students.

  • SpecifiedBy
    A smart database of over 29000 building products with project management, technical search and comparison features, making for efficient research and better informed specification decisions.

Product catalogues

ArCAT
A building product information website that includes 10,500 manufacturer listings by alpha or CSI section, 7000 BIM Models, 900 specs all in the CSI 3 part format, 300 SpecWizards for automated spec writing and 7,000 CAD Details. Free to use and no registration required.

Architonic
A showcase of over 120,000 design products and materials, linking architectural projects with the furnishings, materials and fittings that have been used in their execution.

Barbour Product Search
An online directory offering an accessible platform for architects, contractors and other specifiers within the construction community.

ESI Info
Online database of products and materials.

Greenspec
By promoting 'green' building products, materials, and construction techniques, they aim to help reduce the overall environmental impact of the buildings we create.

NBS Source
An online source of  building product information.

Specify-it
Provides up to date product catalogues aimed at designers, specifiers, and purchasers. It includes full-text catalogues, data sheets, handbooks, reference manuals, selector guides, and brochures. You can search for product names, company names, trade names, and component names.

Quantity Surveying