Socio-economic and census data about the United States.
Information and statistics on the countries of the world.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
This is the Statistical Office of the European Communities, providing freely accessible EU statistics. Access to microdata available with the submission of a research proposal. Microdata are the units of data that aggregate statistics are compiled from. Full details for applying for access available here
The Google Public Data Explorer aims to make large, public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. Datasets covered are limited but include World Development Indicators (World Bank), Human Development Indicators (UN) and OECD Factbook.
Although not completely authoritative, the easy user interface will take you quickly to informative data. Sources for all facts and figures are cited. Most statistics come from international agencies, such as U.S. Census Bureau and UNESCO.
New Zealand data that you can use to create customised tables from official statistics.
The OECD collects statistics needed for the analysis of economic and social developments by its in-house analysts, committees, working parties, and member country governments from statistical agencies and other institutions of its member countries.
Access to commodity trade data for all available countries and areas since 1962. To get access to the full dataset without any restrictions on the number of rows please click on the Legacy link at the top of the page. If your data query is more than 150,000 rows you will need to submit your query via "batch processing".
Collates the data from several major UN databases and allows the user to browse or search multiple resources.
Access to major international trade, tariffs and non-tariff data compilations.
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
Access free datasets across a wide selection of disciplines.
The UK Data Service offers a single point of access to a wide range of economic and social data from the Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS), Census Programme, Secure Data Service and others, including some international data sets. The UK Data Service has produced a guide on ways to get data which will help you access the data they hold.
| Data type | Description |
|---|---|
|
A range of UK survey data, addressing social attitudes, crime, health and lifestyle. Includes: Labour Force Survey, British Social Attitudes, National Food Survey and English Housing Survey. |
|
|
The UKDS holds a range of different types of census data from 1971 to 2011. See the Census Support site for more information. |
|
|
The UKDS provides access to several key longitudinal studies, including major panel and internationally-renowned cohort studies. Includes: British Household Panel Survey, Millennium Cohort Study and National Child Development Study. |
|
|
The UKDS holds a collection of business microdata, provided by the Office for National Statistics. Includes: UK Innovation Survey and Business Structure Database. |
|
|
Non-numeric information, such as in-depth interview transcripts, diaries, anthropological field notes, answers to open-ended survey questions, audio-visual recordings and images. Includes: Family Life of Old People, Gender Difference, Anxiety and the Fear of Crime and Retail Competition And Consumer Choice. |
|
|
Cross-national surveys typically refer to studies where the same survey instrument is used across many nations. Includes: Eurobarometer Surveys, European Election Study and International Social Survey Programme. |
|
|
Major statistical publications produced by intergovernmental organisations such as the World Bank, International Monetary Fund or Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. |
|
|
Data collected by government departments and agencies during their day-to-day activities. |
Fame covers over 11 million companies in the UK and Ireland: Over 2 million companies in a detailed format (Financial data, contact details, number of employees, names of directors, ownership and subsidiaries, and more); 280,000 companies in a summary format; details of 1.3 million active companies not required to file/yet to file accounts; 6 million inactive companies.
A certified training programme is available – in the database click on the “?” help icon in the top right and then the training program tab.
Provides access to standard version of the global business based FT.com. No access to premium content such as Lex.
MarketLine contains global market research and company analysis reports covering sectors including consumer goods, finance, food and drink and technology. Contains PESTLE Country Analysis reports for the top 50 countries in the world (GDP) and PEST country analysis of the top 100 countries (GDP). Access SWOT analysis for many major companies, just type the company name in the search box. You can also search by industry.
Market research reports in UK, European and US consumer markets. Mintel includes trends, statistics, news, information on brands and companies, and demographic data on a range of sectors. Please note Mintel has a 200 concurrent user license.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. *Please note we do not have access to the Insights content.
Statistical backsets and publications, produced by the UK Statistics Authority.
Official statistics produced by government departments.
Official statistics produced by the Scottish Government
Official Statistics produced by the Welsh Government.
Official statistics produced by the Northern Ireland Executive.
Since 2010 the National Archives has been capturing and archiving datasets produced by the UK Government for long term preservation.
Complete population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.
Search and browse questionnaires and data from the UK’s leading longitudinal studies.
British Election Study This link opens in a new window
Explaining Britain's electoral behaviour for over 50 years, The British Election Study is a non-partisan, objective independent study providing world-class data and research into the 2015 British general election, and which has covered every British general election since 1964.
The Centre for Longitudinal Study Information and User Support is an ESRC-funded support team for UK academic, statutory and voluntary sector users of the Office for National Statistics (ONS) Longitudinal Study (LS).
The Northern Ireland Longitudinal Study Research Support Unit (NILS) provides longitudinal data from the Northern Ireland Health Card Registration system to the 1981, 1991, 2001 and 2011 Census returns.
The Scottish Longitudinal Study Development Support Unit provides access to a study created using census data from 1991 onwards; NHS Central Register data; and education data.
