Online TV and radio recording service. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 TV and radio channels. These channels include BBC 1, BBC 2, ITV, Channel 4, Channel 5, BBC 4, Film 4 and radio channels including Radio 4 and lots more. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely and added to a growing media archive of over 2 million programmes that is fully searchable.
Available in the UK. If you are in a non-EU country, the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and you may not access BoB content, even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
Film streaming service where you can watch movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos. We don't have access to the full collection, but there are still a wide range of videos to watch, selected to match our curriculum.
*Apologies please use a pc/mac to view there is an error when accessing via a mobile/tablet device.
Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
To access this resource, click on log in where it says Please log in via your home organisation, choose Leeds Beckett University from the drop down list and click on Select.
Professional-quality audio and video materials. First time users - you will need to register using your student or staff email address. Then follow the prompts to pick a password, we do not recommend using your LBU password (you may need to scroll down and the password page appears on the right hand side).
Subsequent access is via the ‘Access Database’ link and logging in with LBU email and distinct password. If you have forgotten your password, please check your inbox spam for necessary email.
Legal databases can be used to find more detailed information on computer crime than in news reports. When searching, remember that only around 6% of cases are formally reported, so it is not always possible to find a law report on a specific case.
PressReader has over 5000 publications from over 100 countries. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print. Some titles that you can access include Computer Arts, The Guardian, T3 and lots more. It covers a vast amount of subjects from Art and Design (Wallpaper magazine) to Zoology (BBC Wildlife).
As a Leeds Beckett student you can read all these publications - just sign in with your Leeds Beckett email and password. For additional features, such as adding favourite publications and setting up email alerts, register for a PressReader account by clicking the "User" icon in the top right hand corner of the screen. We recommend the desktop version, as the app needs to be re-authenticated weekly via accessing 'https://www-pressreader-com.leedsbeckett.idm.oclc.org/catalog' on your device and opening/installing app when prompted.
Provides access to full text newspapers and allows you to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives, with over 2,000 full-text newspaper titles from across the world. Includes over 700 UK newspapers, including local, trade and national titles.
This database contains the full text of the Financial Times, with a 30 day embargo.
Full text archive of key UK and Irish news titles such as The Guardian. If a log in prompt displays, please use your standard University username and password - an additional Lexis account is not needed.
An online, full text facsimile of 200 years of The Times, detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785 to 2019. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
Provides access to premium version of the global business based FT.com. In addition we have access to FT.com app.
Other, more specialist news sources are available, particularly for historical research.
More than 2 million images from 300 collections, which are updated monthly. The images are curated from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research. Images can be found on a range of subjects, including: anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art, history, fashion and costume, literature, religion, world history and more.
You can download images and image details individually. Once you have logged in using your username and password you will have to register for a free account in order to download. Register using your student email address and by registering you will be able to access saved folders and organize images into groups.
*If unable to access, please clear your cache/cookies or use an alternative browser eg Microsoft Edge
This extensive list of free image sources from around the internet may also help to broaden an image search.
