See the Finding Information page which explains what searching techniques there are so that you can find the most relevant information for your needs. It also has tips on saving results and how to evaluate your sources.
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. It provides information on a range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, social sciences and more.
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) is an aggregation of open access content from UK and worldwide repositories and open access journals. It provides a range of services including discovery, analytics, and text mining access. The aggregated content includes metadata (24m records) and open access research outputs (about 1.8m full text items) from more than 667 repositories, from 10,351 journals in the UK and worldwide (currently 70 countries).
The DOAJ provides free, full text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals from around the world. There are over 19,000 open access titles, covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
Allows you to research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Find full text of literary works; journal articles; literature criticism; reviews; biographical information and overviews.
A regularly updated, digitized journal archive providing you with a wide range of scholarly content. A key resource for Humanities and Social Sciences. This is an archive so the current issues will not be available straight away, but you will always get from volume 1, issue 1 for every journal title.
Leeds Beckett subscribes to the Arts and Sciences Collection I, II and III, which covers archaeology, classical studies, economics, geography, history, language, music, performing and visual arts, political science, sociology.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present. Covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing.
The archive provides access to all content from Volume 1 until 1995, for journals across the subjects of humanities, law, social sciences, medicine and science.
Publishers of scholarly journals, books, eBooks, reference works, and databases, the content spans all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Focuses on adult comic books and graphic novels. Includes works from both recognised and less mainstream artists. You can also access interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this art form.
For a full list of all of the Library's databases, go to:
