Trade journals or magazines are written for people working in the creative industries. They feature articles that focus on contemporary topics of interest to professionals and will often include industry-specific advertising and job postings. Some useful creative writing trade journals are:
Creative Review focuses on commercial creativity, design, advertising, photography, branding, digital products, film, and gaming. Updated daily with analysis, comment, opinion and advice on life in the creative industries. As well as the online content, you can also access every print issue of the Creative Review magazine in the digital archive, from 1980 onwards.
Before accessing you will need to register with your LBU email, as per below. After which you will be able to access the content. (To log back in, click on the head and shoulders icon top right of the homepage).
Apologies, but after registration, there is a 48 hour delay to access the print version of Creative Review online.
A-N focuses on conversations around the critical and professional environment for the visual arts. It contains news, careers and professional development information for all aspects of arts in the UK. There are resources on: setting up open exhibitions, funding, increasing productivity, and news about curatorial initiatives.
Please note, you will need individual membership to use the current 'jobs and opps' listings.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. *Please note we do not have access to the Insights content.
Includes statistics such as:
Online access to the Census of England and Wales held on 21 March 2021 by the Office for National Statistics.
Provides statistics at European level (from the European Union statistics office in Luxembourg) that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Provides statistics on a range of areas, such as population, international trade and transportation to show comparisons between countries and regions within the EU.
The latest comprehensive range of official UK statistics about the economy, population and society at national and local level. Summaries and detailed data releases are published free of charge.
A comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. It contains single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
Careers in Creative Industries
Comprising original empirical studies of career-making in the creative sector, this book takes in theatre, music, film, TV, visual arts, fashion design, and architecture as creative industries. This format facilitates comparative analysis of central features of career-making within as well as across both specific industries and national contexts. The book is at the forefront and intersection of contemporary career research and research on work in creative industries / the cultural economy, intertwining both subjective and objective approaches to and dimensions of career. The contributors move beyond the dichotomies that have characterized recent career theory and work on creative industries to examine factors that facilitate and restrict horizontal and vertical mobility. Spanning a diverse range of case studies, from German theatre to Danish fashion, this book is a valuable reference for scholars of the creative and cultural industries and important reading for thoser interested in careers more generally.
