Journals (also known as periodicals, serials or magazines) are published on a regular basis and cover a particular subject or profession. Because they are published frequently, they are an excellent source of up-to-date information.
Each journal issue contains a number of articles, written by different authors, all of which will relate to the subject covered by the journal. Different types of journals are published, these include:
Journals often contain more specialised information than books, so you will use them as your academic interests develop, and they are useful for reading about more niche or specific topics.
See the Finding Information page which explains what searching techniques there are so that you can find the most relevant information for your needs. It also has tips on saving results and how to evaluate your sources.
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries, from 1900 to present.
Film Index International can also be searched as part of Screen Studies Collection.
The AFI Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. New records are created and added each year.
Information on over 70,000 global films released in 2000-2021. Also includes information on over 260,000 people associated with the films.
These are some of your key journals. The icons tell you whether these are available online 
or in print 
. Print journals are on the third floor of the Sheila Silver Library.
(Please note that full-text access to the most recent issues of some ejournals may not be available due to publisher embargo. If full-text access to an article you are looking for is unavailable, please contact your academic librarian.)
For a full list of all the Library's online journals go to:
You can also search Discover to see if we have a journal in print:
Use Discover to search across a large number of different databases at the same time to find articles from a range of sources. Search with keywords that describe your topic to see what articles have been written:
You can also search on these separate, more subject-specific, databases to find articles:
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984. Also including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the year 2000. Provides comprehensive information on specific films, plays, theatres, actors, directors, TV series, film studios, musicians, genres, record labels, subcultures and youth movements. Core titles such as Variety, Billboard, Broadcasting and The Stage are included providing historical information on the full range of popular entertainment.
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) provides in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. It contains the full-text of over 60 journals, as well as FIAF's “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world; a selection of Reference volumes.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database can also be searched as part of Screen Studies Collection.
A regularly updated, digitized journal archive providing you with a wide range of scholarly content. A key resource for Humanities and Social Sciences. This is an archive so the current issues will not be available straight away, but you will always get from volume 1, issue 1 for every journal title.
Leeds Beckett subscribes to the Arts and Sciences Collection I, II and III, which covers archaeology, classical studies, economics, geography, history, language, music, performing and visual arts, political science, sociology.
A platform which allows you to search classic media periodicals from the Media History Digital Library. Useful for the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
A hive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
PressReader has over 5000 publications from over 100 countries. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print. Some titles that you can access include Computer Arts, The Guardian, T3 and lots more. It covers a vast amount of subjects from Art and Design (Wallpaper magazine) to Zoology (BBC Wildlife).
As a Leeds Beckett student you can read all these publications - just sign in with your Leeds Beckett email and password. For additional features, such as adding favourite publications and setting up email alerts, register for a PressReader account by clicking the "User" icon in the top right hand corner of the screen. We recommend the desktop version, as the app needs to be re-authenticated weekly via accessing 'https://www-pressreader-com.leedsbeckett.idm.oclc.org/catalog' on your device and opening/installing app when prompted.
A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
