Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
To access this resource, click on log in where it says Please log in via your home organisation, choose Leeds Beckett University from the drop down list and click on Select.
The Library has a collection of film, television and video games available to borrow. To search the collection go to Discover and on the Advanced Search screen choose which format you would like the results to be, e.g. DVD video, sound recording, etc.
Copyright Aware is a BBC website explaining what copyright is and gives guidance on how you can protect your own creative work and how to use other people's work legally.
More than 2 million images from 300 collections, which are updated monthly. The images are curated from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research. Images can be found on a range of subjects, including: anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art, history, fashion and costume, literature, religion, world history and more.
You can download images and image details individually. Once you have logged in using your username and password you will have to register for a free account in order to download. Register using your student email address and by registering you will be able to access saved folders and organize images into groups.
*If unable to access, please clear your cache/cookies or use an alternative browser eg Microsoft Edge
More than 200,000 fully-catalogued British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines. Artwork dates from 19th century to the present day, by over 300 artists. Covers all areas of British political cartoons and caricature and covers these themes extensively: political commentary of 20th century; Victorian and Edwardian caricature; Societal commentary; World wars; Domestic life.
Explore over 50 million digital resources, including artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe’s leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Items include artwork from Botticelli, fashion illustrations from Paul Poiret and music from Mozart. Digital versions of exhibitions can be viewed to learn more about a number of subject areas such as: Leonardo Da Vinci, recording devices and surrealist art.
Research tool allowing researchers to access primary material depicting key elements of nineteenth century popular culture, including spiritualism in Victorian Britain, the circus, pleasure gardens, advertising and music hall. Primary material in the collection includes books, pamphlets, journals, posters, photographs, prints, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, theatre tickets, architectural design plans, scripts, programmes and playbills.
This is an important online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images. They are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning and research.
VADS is a service of the Centre for Digital Scholarship in the Library & Student Services department of the University for the Creative Arts.
Online TV and radio recording service. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 TV and radio channels. These channels include BBC 1, BBC 2, ITV, Channel 4, Channel 5, BBC 4, Film 4 and radio channels including Radio 4 and lots more. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely and added to a growing media archive of over 2 million programmes that is fully searchable.
Available in the UK. If you are in a non-EU country, the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and you may not access BoB content, even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
Recorded performances from over 50 leading theatre companies, educational organisations and arts collectives worldwide. The 600+ productions are accompanied by essays, guides and lesson plans, as well as insights from practitioners and academics.
Provides a collection of over 1200 videos on the latest information and research. Covering topics on: Business, Psychology, Politics, Medicine, Sociology, Economics, Law, History, Natural Science, Education and Arts.
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Film streaming service where you can watch movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos. We don't have access to the full collection, but there are still a wide range of videos to watch, selected to match our curriculum.
*Apologies please use a pc/mac to view there is an error when accessing via a mobile/tablet device.
On-demand media recording service for Leeds Beckett staff. Content includes in-house recordings such as inaugural lectures and graduation ceremonies.
LeedsBeckett TV is available on and off campus (but not outside the UK).
AP Archive
AP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press (AP), one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent news gathering. The collection includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories dating back to 1895. Hours of new video footage is added daily with coverage from AP's global news gathering network. Also contains access to British Movietone, the world’s greatest newsreel archive, spanning the period 1895 – 1986.
The British Film Institute's Screenonline is an online encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring hundreds of hours of film and television clips from the vast collections of the BFI National Archive, and several hours of recorded interviews with film and TV personalities. These clips are supplemented by rich and authoritative contextual material by expert writers, specially commissioned for BFI Screenonline alongside thousands of stills, posters and press books.
A BFI database that contains 1,000 films covering 120 years of British life. The interactive map means you can search for specific places, or browse to see what films they have for a particular area. The majority of content on the map is free, but some content has to be paid for due to rights holders obligations.
British Council Film Collection
The British Council Film Collection is an archive of 120 short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s designed to show the world how Britain lived, worked and played. Over 120 films were produced as 'cultural propaganda' to counteract anything the Nazis might throw out and to refute the idea that ours was a country stuck in the past. These films were designed to showcase Britain to the rest of the world, at a time when Britain itself was under attack.
One of the world's largest sound archives. Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound, including oral history.
To access this resource, click on log in where it says Please log in via your home organisation, choose Leeds Beckett University from the drop down list and click on Select.
British Pathé
British Pathé is one of the oldest media companies in the world. By the time Pathé finally stopped producing the cinema newsreel in 1970 they had accumulated 3,500 hours of filmed history amounting to over 90,000 individual items. Whereas all professional usages still require a licence fee, there are free "preview" facilities on this site.
British Universities Film and Video Council Moving Image Gateway
This gateway includes nearly 1,200 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been sub-divided into over 40 subject areas, including History.
Europeana Music
Europeana Music brings together a selection of the best music recordings, sheet music, and other music related collections from Europe's audio-visual archives, libraries, archives and museums. Explore over 300,000 music recordings, pieces of sheet music and other music items from across Europe and listen to Europeana Radio where you can choose from Classical Music or Traditional and Folk Music.
The ILR Programme Sharing Scheme encompassed a concept which enabled features, drama, music and news producers working in commercial radio around Britain to offer material - including a significant body of speech-based programming produced locally - to other stations. The database contains c1120 recordings generated by the scheme. The ILR Programme Sharing database is only available for access and use to bona fide students, researchers and teachers in further and higher education in the United Kingdom and to BUFVC members.
Yorkshire Film Archive
The Yorkshire Film Archive is a registered charity which finds, preserves and provides public access to moving image made in or about the Yorkshire region.
AP Images
Archive from the Associated Press, containing more than 3,000 photos a day from journalists recording news as it happens around the world. For more than a century, AP has captured the greatest moments in history, breaking news, sports, politics and entertainment.
Getty Images
Getty Images is among the world’s leading creators and distributors of award-winning photography. These are the photos that appear every day in the world’s most influential newspapers, magazines, advertising campaigns, films, television programs, books and online media.
LIFE Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE magazine's photo archive, from the 1750s to today. Images include famous personalities as well as photos of historical and cultural events.
National Archives Image Library
Browse or search over 70,000 digitised images spanning hundreds of years of history from The National Archives' unique collections, from ancient maps to iconic advertising. Images are hallmarked but are still a great record of historical images.
