The Library: Graphic Design & Illustration: Books

Discover Print Books and eBooks

Individual eBook titles can be accessed online through Discover. The following eBook collections are also available:

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
DOAB provides access to over 70,000 scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books, on a variety of subjects.
- Accessibility information.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central collection includes titles purchased by your librarian, such as key resources on from reading lists and other eBooks for wider reading.
- Ebook Central Bookshelf.
- Accessibility help for Ebook Central.
Underground & Independent Comics, Comix and Graphic Novels (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on adult comic books and graphic novels. Includes works from both recognised and less mainstream artists. You can also access interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this art form.
- Please visit the Underground & Independent Comics help pages for support.
- Accessibility statement for Underground & Independent Comics, Comix and Graphic Novels.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Discover a new topic or subject with these introductory eBooks written by authors who are experts in their field.
- Accessibility help for Very Short Introductions.
VLebooks This link opens in a new window
Titles from the VLeBook collection are purchased based on your usage - if you use a title, it will be added to the collection.
- Access VLebooks Bookshelf.
- Accessibility help for VLebooks.

There are also a number of free open access eBook providers, including:

Getty Publications Virtual Library
Free online access to more than 250 of Getty Publications titles, including 'American Icons: Transatlantic Perspectives on Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century American Art' and 'Introduction to Imaging'.
Guggenheim Online Modern Art Books
The Guggenheim Modern Art Museum has made available online over 100 art books and catalogues. To read any of these, you will just need to follow these simple instructions: 1) Select a text from the collection. 2) Click the 'Read Catalogue Online' button. 3) Start reading the book in the pop-up browser, and use the controls at the very bottom of the pop-up browser to move through the book.
MetPublications
MetPublications is a portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s publications containing over 1,600 free-to-download titles from the last six decades, including art catalogues from the museum's past exhibitions.

Staff and students can request new items for the Library collection.

See the Request It! page to find out more.

If you can't find the item you need you can use our Request It! service and we will try and obtain it for you, either by purchasing it as an eBook or borrowing it from another library as an interlibrary loan.

Provides free access to details of materials held in over 180 UK national, academic and specialist libraries.

Students and staff can use other UK libraries through the SCONUL Access scheme, or by visiting the British Library reading room at Boston Spa.

If you live in Leeds you can join Leeds Libraries for free and borrow books from public libraries across the city.

Email Me

Subjects: Games Design, Interactive Media and Music Technology, Leeds Business School, Leeds Law School, Leeds School of Arts, School of Built Environment, Engineering and Computing