It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Look at the Discover FAQs to get the most out of using this resource.
Apply for interlibrary loans for any books or articles you'd like to read that we don't have at Leeds Beckett.
Join SCONUL Access to visit other university libraries to look at their print books or journals.
How to search for information
There is a Finding Information page on Skills for Learning which tells you about different types of sources and how to search them. It explains what searching techniques there are so that you can find the most relevant information for your needs. It also has tips on saving results and how to evaluate your sources.
The DART-Europe portal offers free access to full text European doctoral theses. The portal gives you access to over 360,000 open access research theses from over 500 universities in 27 European countries.
Access to ALL theses produced by UK Higher Education for researchers Worldwide. You can search the EThOS database without having to register. You do, however, need to register and log in if you want to download a thesis from EThOS or to order digitisation of a thesis.
Provides access to 5 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, with nearly 3 million full text dissertations available for download. Please note that, despite global coverage, much of the content is North American.
The Library also has some hard copies of old dissertations and theses. You can consult these to see how previous students conducted and presented their work.
Search on Discover for dissertations and theses held in the Library:
Books to help with your critical study
Creative Research: the theory and practice of research for the creative industriesLeads the reader through the key knowledge, practices and skills of research methods in the study of design management and focuses on defining the research problem, deciding on a research process and undertaking a research project as a student at undergraduate or postgraduate level or as a practitioner within the creative fields.
Design Research: investigation for successful creative solutionsDesign Research shows readers how to choose the best method of research in order to save time and get the right results.The book makes readers aware of all the different research methods, as well as how to carry out the most appropriate research for their graphic design projects. All stages of the research process are considered in a dynamic and entertaining style, covering audience, context, trends, sources, documentation, dissemination and more.Students and designers can benefit from this text by learning fresh ways to analyse information obtained by data gathering, and how best to test and prove decisions. The resulting, well-rounded solutions will be informed, innovative, and aesthetically fitting for the brief.
How to Write about Contemporary ArtHow to Write About Contemporary Art is the definitive guide to writing engagingly about the art of our time. Invaluable for students, arts professionals and other aspiring writers, the book first navigates readers through the key elements of style and content, from the aims and structure of a piece to its tone and language. Brimming with practical tips that range across the complete spectrum of art-writing, the second part of the book is organized around its specific forms, including academic essays; press releases and news articles; texts for auction and exhibition catalogues, gallery guides and wall labels; op-ed journalism and exhibition reviews; and writing for websites and blogs. In counseling the reader against common pitfalls—such as jargon and poor structure—Gilda Williams points instead to the power of close looking and research, showing how to deploy language effectively; how to develop new ideas; and how to construct compelling texts. More than 30 illustrations throughout support closely analysed case studies of the best writing, in Source Texts by 64 authors, including Claire Bishop, Thomas Crow, T.J. Demos, Okwui Enwezor, Dave Hickey, John Kelsey, Chris Kraus, Rosalind Krauss, Stuart Morgan, Hito Steyerl, and Adam Szymczyk. Supplemented by a general bibliography, advice on the use and misuse of grammar, and tips on how to construct your own contemporary art library, How to Write About Contemporary Art is the essential handbook for all those interested in communicating about the art of today.
Inspiring Writing in Art and DesignWhen art and design students are asked for statements to accompany their work, reflective journals, or critiques, reviews and essays, they often freeze up because they have to put their thoughts in writing. Although these students are comfortable expressing themselves visually, they lack confidence working with words. Inspiring Writing in Art and Design is a practical aid for those students who are disheartened or overwhelmed by having to write. Pat Francis provides short writing exercises and creative writing techniques for tutors to use and which will help art and design students develop their ability to verbally articulate the concepts and aesthetics behind their art. Using Francis’s examples, students will build confidence and skills that can help them succeed in presenting their work and themselves in, and beyond, the studio world.
Verbalising the Visual: translating art and design into wordsIs every picture worth a thousand words? And what words should they be? Verbalising the Visual explores the ever-changing relationship between language, objects, and meanings, and considers how we translate the experience of visual culture into written and spoken words. World-renowned author and cultural commentator Michael Clarke looks at a range of language--formal and informal, academic and colloquial, global and local--and reveals how this language characterizes current art and design discourse. More than 300 pictures illustrate the intriguing examples. Ideal for visual arts students and helpful for anyone interested in writing and talking about art, including everyone in marketing, advertising, and communications, Verbalising the Visual is a refreshing, insightful look at words and pictures and the place where they intersect.
Visual Research: an introduction to research methodologies in graphic designVisual Research: An Introduction to Research Methodologies in Graphic Design (second edition) is a guide to the practice of researching for graphic design projects. This book explains the key terms and theories that underlie design research; examining the importance of audience, communication theory, semiotics and semantics. It features a range of case studies that demonstrate how the use of rigorous research methods can form the basis of effective visual communication and design problem solving, eschewing end product analysis for a discussion of the way research feeds into the design process. This edition also includes 12 new international case studies, end of chapter exercises, a new chapter on Visual Grammar and a foreword by Ellen Lupton, an internationally renowned graphic designer, writer, curator and educator.
Writing for the Design Mind"Becoming a designer takes a huge amount of time and education. With so many skills to learn, many people never get the chance to master the one skill that can give them a real advantage in business or academia: They never learn to write well." In Writing for the Design Mind author, designer and educator Natalia Ilyin offers clear, concise, and humorous writing tips, techniques and strategies to people who have spent their lives mastering design rather than learning to write. Ilyin's book helps designers approach writing in the same ways they approach designing - teaching skills and methods through encouragement, practical exercises and visual advice. Writing well is a skill, like any other, and with this book you can learn to do it with confidence.
Search Discover for other books to help you write your critical study: