Statistics portal, allowing you to access a wide variety of statistics, and download them as images, Powerpoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context.
Includes statistics such as:
A comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. It contains single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
Art Inc.: the essential guide for building your career as an artist You don't have to starve to be an artist. Build a career doing what you love. In this practical guide, professional artist Lisa Congdon reveals the many ways you can earn a living by making art-through illustration, licensing, fine art sales, print sales, teaching, and beyond. Including industry advice from such successful art-world pros as Nikki McClure, Mark Hearld, Paula Scher, and more, Art, Inc. will equip you with the tools-and the confidence-to turn your passion into a profitablebusiness.LEARN HOW TO: - Set actionable goals - Diversify your income - Manage your bookkeeping - Copyright your work - Promote with social media - Build a standout website - Exhibit with galleries - Sell and price your work - License your art - Acquire an agent - And much more
Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer: a guide to careers in design Begin your graphic design career now, with the guidance of industry experts Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer is a single source guide to the myriad of options available to those pursuing a graphic design career. With an emphasis on portfolio requirements and job opportunities, this guide helps both students and individuals interested in entering the design field prepare for successful careers. Coverage includes design inspiration, design genres, and design education, with discussion of the specific career options available in print, interactive, and motion design. Interviews with leading designers like Michael Bierut, Stefan Sagmeister, and Mirko Ilic give readers an insider's perspective on career trajectory and a glimpse into everyday operations and inspirations at a variety of companies and firms. Design has become a multi-platform activity that involves aesthetic, creative, and technical expertise. Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer shows readers that the field once known as "graphic design" is now richer and more inviting than ever before. Learn how to think like a designer and approach projects systematically Discover the varied career options available within graphic design Gain insight from some of the leading designers in their fields Compile a portfolio optimized to your speciality of choice Graphic designers' work appears in magazines, advertisements, video games, movies, exhibits, computer programs, packaging, corporate materials, and more. Aspiring designers are sure to find their place in the industry, regardless of specific interests. Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer provides a roadmap and compass for the journey, which begins today.
Becoming a Successful Graphic Designer As students prepare to enter the world of work, there are many decisions that they need to make about what type of career they want: Freelancing? Working in a design agency? Setting up their own business? They also need the practical advice about how to work with clients, how to organize themselves, billing, etc. Through interviews with people at all levels of design, the author provides down to earth and straight forward information that is relevant to today's students looking to start a career in design.
Becoming a Successful Illustrator Illustration is a diverse and constantly evolving area of art and design and an appealing creative career. But to stand out from the crowd, successful illustrators need to combine creative talent with strong marketing and promotional skills. Becoming a Successful Illustrator provides practical and inspirational guidance on finding and contacting clients, putting together promotional materials and establishing yourself as a professional illustrator. With case studies, and firsthand tips and hints from practising illustrators at varying stages in their careers, and packed with hundreds of beautiful examples of professional work, this is a must-have guide to the working world of illustration. This title is part of the Creative Careers series from Fairchild Books, designed to help bridge the gap between academia and a first job in the creative industries. Brimming with helpful tips and facts about the world of work, they offer an essential guide for any emerging creative practitioner. The cover artwork for Becoming a Successful Illustrator has been shortlisted for an illustration award in the 2013 books category by the prestigious Association of Illustrators.
Be Creative: making a living in the new culture industries In this exciting new book Angela McRobbie charts the 'euphoric' moment of the new creative economy, as it rose to prominence in the UK during the Blair years, and considers it from the perspective of contemporary experience of economic austerity and uncertainty about work and employment. McRobbie makes some bold arguments about the staging of creative economy as a mode of 'labour reform'; she proposes that the dispositif of creativity is a fine-tuned instrument for acclimatising the expanded, youthful urban middle classes to a future of work without the raft of entitlements and security which previous generations had struggled to win through the post-war period of social democratic government. Adopting a cultural studies perspective, McRobbie re-considers resistance as 'line of flight' and shows what is at stake in the new politics of culture and creativity. She incisively analyses 'project working' as the embodiment of the future of work and poses the question as to how people who come together on this basis can envisage developing stronger and more protective organisations and associations. Scattered throughout the book are excerpts from interviews with artists, stylists, fashion designers, policy-makers, and social entrepreneurs.
Careers in Creative Industries [ebook] Comprising original empirical studies of career-making in the creative sector, this book takes in theatre, music, film, TV, visual arts, fashion design, and architecture as creative industries. This format facilitates comparative analysis of central features of career-making within as well as across both specific industries and national contexts. The book is at the forefront and intersection of contemporary career research and research on work in creative industries / the cultural economy, intertwining both subjective and objective approaches to and dimensions of career. The contributors move beyond the dichotomies that have characterized recent career theory and work on creative industries to examine factors that facilitate and restrict horizontal and vertical mobility. Spanning a diverse range of case studies, from German theatre to Danish fashion, this book is a valuable reference for scholars of the creative and cultural industries and important reading for thoser interested in careers more generally.
The Complete Graphic Designer: a guide to understanding graphics and visual communication : design for communication, the design process, page layout and design, common design jobs, corporate identity, branding Offers insight and information to help design students apply their skills to the commercial industry. Graphic design is a fast growing industry with thousands of new designers and students joining its ranks every year. The explosion of the graphic design field has resulted in the release of hundreds of new books, with subjects ranging from logo design to web design, design history to design criticism; today there are very few subjects related to the industry that have not been written about in one form or another. While the wealth of information and resources available to the graphic designer is extensive, it makes it hard to gain an overall perspective of graphic design and its practical applications in the field, as the content and subject matter of most books is very specialized. Design educators, especially at the collegiate level, have an increasingly difficult task of teaching a well-rounded course in graphic design, as they have to pull curriculum ideas from many sources, and require the students to purchase numerous texts. The Complete Graphic Designer is that well-rounded course in graphic design. It is not an instructional "how to" book, nor will it feature a series of suggested curriculum or problems for designers or students to solve. Rather, this book will be a concise overview of the many facets of graphic design, such as communication theory and why it is important; various types of problems that designers confront on a daily basis; and the considerations that must be made when trying to solve those visual problems. In addition, it features prominent designers and design firms that are renown for work in a certain type of design, and frequent "sidebars" or articles that include useful information on graphic design. This book provides a complete an comprehensive look at what graphic design is and what it means to be a graphic designer from an applied perspective, with chapters including Design for Communication, The Design Process, Page Layout, Visual Problems, Corporate Identity, and Branding.
Death to the Starving Artist: art marketing strategies for a killer creative career "Death To The Starving Artist" outlines a comprehensive marketing model for ambitious artists who are ready to reach a wider audience and turn their art hobby into an art career.Each year, art schools across the country spit countless artists into society who have been trained well at their craft but lack the tactical, strategic knowledge necessary to turn their craft into a sustainable business. Too many artists accept the flawed maxim that art and commerce don't mix. They adopt the antiquated "starving artist" paradigm, which is a lie that only perpetuates self-limiting beliefs. Contemporary pop artist and marketing expert Nikolas Allen aims to kill this outmoded paradigm once and for all. With "Death To The Starving Artist," Allen guides readers through his proprietary model of using the Right Tools to reach the Right Audience with the Right Message. This book teaches artists how to talk about themselves and their work in a compelling way that intrigues their target audience. It outlines myriad exhibition opportunities and helps artists target the appropriate venues for their career goals. It explains the extensive tools available both online and offline that will help artists build their brand and grow their business. Author Nikolas Allen is a life-long artist. He knows the unique challenges artists face, yet he refuses to coddle fragile egos. The book is jam packed with strategic, practical knowledge, tips, stories, examples and insights written in a fresh, bold voice full of humor, experience and tough love. With "Death To The Starving Artist - Art Marketing Strategies for a Killer Creative Career," Nikolas Allen aims to educate, encourage and inspire ambitious artists with ideas, insights, and resources that will empower them to succeed in their creative field.
Don't Get a Job... Make a Job: how to make it as a creative graduate Too often a design or architecture degree is seen as a means to an end (a job in an established practice). But imagine for one moment that there are no employers, no firms to send your resumé to, no interviews to be had--what would you do? How would you forge your own path after graduation? The current economic climate has seen many graduates chasing a finite number of positions. The most ingenious and driven designers have found weird and wonderful ways of making opportunities for themselves, often by applying their skills across the creative disciplines of art, design, architecture, and interiors. Knowing what you want from your design career and being able to adapt your strategy to suit is basic and vital--just like in the wild, designers need to evolve. The book celebrates the various strategies that students and graduates are taking to gain exposure, while also including interviews and inspirational advice from those who are now enjoying success as a result of their creative approach to employment.
How to be a graphic designer, without losing your soul This guidebook addresses the concerns of young designers who want to earn a living by doing expressive and meaningful work, but want to avoid becoming a hired drone working on soulless projects. It offers straight-talking advice on how to establish your design career and practical suggestions for running a successful business.
How to Create a Portfolio and Get Hired: Guide for Graphic Designers and Illustrators This book shows those embarking on an illustration or graphic design career how best to put together an effective, professional portfolio. It discusses what to include and how to organize and display the work, and also advises on presentation techniques and selfpromotion. Both print and digital portfolios are examined. Deciding who to approach for work is of key importance whether you are looking for a full-time position or freelance work, and the book maps out the creative marketplace, examining the main areas of work and describing the types of position available in each, and how the commissioning process works. Tips are included from commissioners and practitioners working in magazine and book publishing, design, advertising, TV/film and beyond, as well as agents and educators. The book also features a listings section detailing online resources and publications to aid research, suppliers, specialist libraries, industry-related trade fairs, and professional organizations.
Oh Sh*T... What Now?: Honest Advice for New Graphic Designers So you've graduated. What now? Where do you live? Can you afford to live? How can you make money doing design? How do you get a job? Who do you want to work for and are you good enough? This book is a comprehensive and insightful guide to anything and everything that is of use to those looking to break into the creative industries,sharing experiences, ideas, advice, criticism, and encouragement. With sections covering education, portfolios, jobs/freelancing, working process, and personal development, this straight-talking, funny, and frequently irreverent guide is a must-read for all creative arts students.
Starting Your Career as an Artist : a guide for painters, sculptors, photographers, and other visual artists Starting Your Career as an Artist is a comprehensive manual full of sound advice for artists seeking to advance their professional careers. Veteran art career professionals Angie Wojak and Stacy Miller show aspiring artists how to evaluate their goals, create a plan of action, and use their talents to build a productive life in the art world. Chapters cover topics essential to the emerging artist, such as building community through networking, collaborating, and finding mentors; setting up a studio; health and safety for artists; artist’s resumes and CVs; developing marketing plans; finding alternative exhibition venues; and refining career aspirations. In addition, the book includes inspiring and insightful interviews with professional artists and well-known players in the art scene. http://www.facebook.com/StartArtCareerA-N focuses on conversations around the critical and professional environment for the visual arts. It contains news, careers and professional development information for all aspects of arts in the UK. There are resources on; setting up open exhibitions, funding, increasing productivity, and news about curatorial initiatives.
Please note, you will need individual membership to use the current 'jobs and opps' listings.
Trade journals or magazines are written for people working in the creative industry. They feature articles that focus on contemporary topics of interest to art professionals and will often include industry-specific advertising and job postings. Some useful graphic design trade journals are:
This database holds a collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings covering a wide range of industries within the United Kingdom.
A database of market research reports into European, UK-specific and US consumer markets. You can search for relevant publications by market category. Please note Mintel has a 200 concurrent user license.
A leading trend forecasting service, containing resources for fashion design, real time information on trends and portfolios of resources connected to product categories.
