Below are statistics databases, but you might also find our lists of free statistical data on the Statistics page useful.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. .
Online access to the Census of England and Wales held on 21 March 2021 by the Office for National Statistics.
Provides statistics at European level (from the European Union statistics office in Luxembourg) that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Provides statistics on a range of areas, such as population, international trade and transportation to show comparisons between countries and regions within the EU.
The latest comprehensive range of official UK statistics about the economy, population and society at national and local level. Summaries and detailed data releases are published free of charge.
A comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. It contains single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
Ethical Consumer's primary goal is making global businesses more sustainable through consumer pressure. You can access tools and resources to make choices at the checkout simple, informed and effective to consumers. Categories include Energy, Fashion and Clothing, Food and Drink, Health and Beauty, Home and Garden, Retailers and Technology.
Collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings covering a wide range of industries within the UK. Includes statistics, analysis, forecasts, Brexit Impact Reports and insight into operation conditions, including the supply chain.
Market research reports in UK, European and US consumer markets. Mintel includes trends, statistics, news, information on brands and companies, and demographic data on a range of sectors. Please note Mintel has a 200 concurrent user license.
Mintel Trends is a trend analysis service that monitors, tracks and interprets consumer behaviour. Trends helps you understand the wider implications of changes in culture, society, brands, and markets and apply those findings for practical use. The above link has the 'Consumer Trends' filter already applied and can be found via the 'Expert Analysis' tab of Mintel.
A leading trend forecasting service, containing resources for fashion design, real time information on trends and portfolios of resources connected to product categories.
*28/9/23 majority of the site is available without an account by clicking ‘Access Database’. However some content (including downloads) require an account to access - see below.*
If you cannot login to your account, please try a password reset. If still unable and seeing an error regarding not accessing for 90 days or location error, please email contactus@wgsn.com from your student email account.
Trade journals or magazines are written for people working in the landscape architecture industry. They feature articles that focus on contemporary topics of interest to professionals and will often include industry-specific advertising and job postings. Some useful landscape architecture trade journals we have are:
Your essential resource to find building product information online (previously called RIBA Product Selector)
Provides access to construction components and equipment information suppliers, and gives up to date supplier information from more than 10,000 companies. It includes full text catalogues, CAD drawings, data sheets, handbooks, reference manuals, selector guides, and brochures. You can search for product names, company names, trade names, and component names.
A building product information website that includes 10,500 manufacturer listings by alpha or CSI section, 7000 BIM Models, 900 specs all in the CSI 3 part format, 300 SpecWizards for automated spec writing and 7,000 CAD Details. Free to use and no registration required.
A showcase of over 120,000 design products and materials, linking architectural projects with the furnishings, materials and fittings that have been used in their execution.
A building products directory featuring thousands of UK building products and construction material manufacturers. Useful for finding building products, construction materials and interior design ideas.
UK online database of building materials, including links to company websites. You can search by company and brand, or by product or material. Requires free registration.
Created with government funding so independent of companies or trade, GreenSpec promotes sustainable building products and materials.
Working across five environmental sectors, ESI.info offers the broadest mix of supplier and product information on the market, combined with insightful articles and case studies to keep architects up to date with sector innovations.
Comprehensive listing of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States and Canada. Industrial engineers and buyers use the IQS Directory to specify products within a series of categories and buy products directly from manufacturers.
A knowledge centre for developments and innovations in materials, and their applications for architecture and design. Materia includes a search engine to their knowledge bank of materials.
National Gardening Association Plants Database
Free online plants database created by the US leader in garden-based education and advocacy.
Search for building product information and manufacturers by keyword or Masterformat. Fast-track design, specifications, and document creation with downloadable, insertable product information.
Online catalogue and expert knowledge of new materials and the latest high-tech and environmentally friendly products. Aims to inspire architects and designers looking to transform the structure, spaces and surfaces of their projects.
University of Connecticut Plant Database
The University of Connecticut's College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources has developed this site dedicated to the ornamental attributes, appropriate use and identification of landscape plants.
The most comprehensive and authoritative list of vascular plants (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and bryophytes (mosses, hornworts and liverworts.
Website of the Italian architecture journal Abitare. As well as information on the articles printed in the journals (which you can read in the Library), it also contains architecture news updated daily, and information on companies, buildings, design and products.
From The Architects' Journal, contains architecture news updated daily, and information on companies, buildings, design and products.
A leading online source of information for architects around the world.
A site designed to make architecture more connected and open-minded, and bring together designers from around the world to introduce new ideas from all disciplines.
AD is the international design authority, featuring the work of top architects and designers.
Supplements the monthly magazine with expanded multimedia project stories, in-depth interviews with giants of architecture, daily news updates, weekly book reviews, green architecture stories and archival material, as well as links to people and products.
An independent gateway to architecture and design information and videos. Contains sections on news and trends, products and material, people, and industry news.
Made by the publisher's of Building Design magazine and provides around the clock news, videos, blogs, culture, reviews of the latest buildings from all corners of the world.
An online magazine dedicated to modern design.
One of the most popular and influential architecture and design blogs on the internet.
Online magazine featuring contemporary landscape architecture projects from around the world.
Landscape Institute Case Studies Library
Showcases recent work by Landscape Institute registered practices and others.
Landscape Performance Series Case Study Briefs
A searchable database with over 100 exemplary projects.
Website of the Royal Institute of British Architects. Includes a directory of all RIBA's members, their Library Catalogue, online exhibitions and information portals on topics such as sustainability.
Website from the global magazine that features the latest in architecture, design, fashion and interiors.
This is the database for all publications from the British Standards Institute (BSI). It includes current, historic, and draft British Standards; BSI adopted European and international standards; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries.
Please note you will need to download File Open to be able to download the full standards. Rather than download, you can view the document by clicking on 'Quick View' but please note it isn't always the full version.
Comprehensive source of technical information standards and legislation for construction industry professionals. Includes Building Regulations Approved Documents, Codes of Practice, Specimen Contract Documents, Architects' Journal and the SCI Blue Book.
Please note, for British Standards please search the British Standards Online database.
Careers in Creative Industries
Comprising original empirical studies of career-making in the creative sector, this book takes in theatre, music, film, TV, visual arts, fashion design, and architecture as creative industries. This format facilitates comparative analysis of central features of career-making within as well as across both specific industries and national contexts. The book is at the forefront and intersection of contemporary career research and research on work in creative industries / the cultural economy, intertwining both subjective and objective approaches to and dimensions of career. The contributors move beyond the dichotomies that have characterized recent career theory and work on creative industries to examine factors that facilitate and restrict horizontal and vertical mobility. Spanning a diverse range of case studies, from German theatre to Danish fashion, this book is a valuable reference for scholars of the creative and cultural industries and important reading for thoser interested in careers more generally.
